Lord Cohen Medal for Understanding Ageing Awarded to to Professor Lynne Cox

The British Society for Research on Ageing (BSRA) is pleased to announce the award of the Lord Cohen Medal to Professor Lynne Cox, Department of Biochemistry, University of Oxford, for her outstanding achievements and contributions to understanding the biology of ageing.

Professor David Weinkove, Chair of the BSRA said “Professor Cox has made an impressive contribution to ageing biology over many years. From her work on the molecular processes of how cells age to her support for the next generation of ageing researchers and her passion for connecting researchers through the BSRA and other networks, she is an outstanding candidate for this year’s award. The BSRA is excited to recognise her drive, research excellence and ceaseless advocacy for the field”.

The Lord Cohen Medal is the premier award in the field of gerontology, the study of the biology of ageing. Its award is infrequent, this will be only the 15th awarded medal in the last 40 years. To be considered, a candidate must be judged to “have made a considerable contribution to ageing research, either through original discoveries or in the promotion of the subject of gerontology”.

As part of this award, Professor Cox is invited to give a prize lecture at the BSRA’s annual conference, this year being held at the University of Westminster, London between the 6th and the 8th of September. Professor Cox’s lecture, entitled Targeting Ageing – from Molecular Mechanisms to Clinical Interventions, will cover her research career to date and work on understanding and inhibiting a process called senescence, or the loss of function in cells over time that may cause human ageing.

Professor Lynne Cox is George Moody Fellow and Tutor, Oriel College, University of Oxford, where she leads her research group in ageing and cellular senescence. Professor Cox is also Co-Director of Building Links in Ageing Science and Translation (BLAST) and the combined UK Ageing Networks (UKANet). She is currently seconded as director of Dynamic Resilience to the Wellcome Leap programme.

Lord Cohen Medal awarded to Prof Lynne Cox

Share this post: