Previous Trustees

We are thankful to all of the previous members of the Board of Trustees that volunteered their time to promote the causes of the BSRA.

Dr Neil Martin

Neil is a lecturer in Cellular and Molecular Biology at Loughborough University. His research centres around the role of ageing and exercise on skeletal muscle cell metabolism, with a particular focus on mTORC1 regulation.

View Neil’s trustee profile.

Ana-Mishel (AM) Spiroski

AM is a Group Leader, in vivo pharmacology, and the Cardiovascular Therapeutic Area Lead at Evotec (UK) Ltd. Her work has focused on the prevention and treatment of chronic diseases across the lifespan, in particular cardiovascular, metabolic, and inflammatory diseases. Dr Spiroski currently supports the development of therapeutic candidates, including novel advanced therapy medicinal products (ATMPs), for a variety of disease applications.

Adrian Cull

Adrian is the founder of the Live Forever Club providing scientific research-based information on ageing and longevity to a wide non-academic audience. He is also an experienced IT business analyst in the medical and pharmaceutical industries.

View Adrian’s trustee profile.

Dr Cathy Slack

Cathy is a Lecturer in Biosciences at Aston University. Her research uses the fruit fly, Drosophila melanogaster, to investigate nutrient signalling pathways and their impact on healthy ageing.

Jed Lye

Jed Lye

Jed is a molecular physiologist, having just received his PhD from the University of Southampton in bioinformatics and in which he focused on immunodeficiency and immunosenescence. He was awarded an honorary enterprise fellowship from the Faculty of Medicine and occupied roles on the Enterprise Board, the Intellectual Property Panel, and has spent time in industry working with venture capital firms and research organisations conducting industry intelligence analysis.

Dr Marina Ezcurra

Dr Marina Ezcurra

Marina is a Lecturer of the Biology of Ageing at Biosciences, University of Kent. Her research is focused on understanding how host-microbiome interactions affect ageing of the host nervous system (

View Marina’s trustee profile.

Prof Lorna Harries

Lorna is Professor in Molecular Genetics and head of the RNA-mediated disease mechanisms group at the University of Exeter Medical School. Her research interests include -omics approaches to the study of human ageing and age-related disease processes in man.

Dr J Pedro de Magalhaes

Dr de Magalhaes is a reader at the University of Liverpool and leads the Integrative Genomics of Ageing Group ( His lab studies the ageing process and how we can manipulate it to fend off age-related diseases and improve human health.

Prof Claire Stewart

Professor Stewart is a Professor of Stem Cell Biology where she applies her expertise surrounding stem cells, muscle adaptation to healthy ageing. Her research focus throughout has therefore been on the interaction of growth factors and cytokines on cellular responses, specifically with age, injury and disease.

Adam Rolt

Adam is a Postdoctoral Researcher based in the Department of Biochemistry, University of Oxford.

Dr James Brown

James is an Associate Professor and Director of the Aston Research Centre for Healthy Ageing (ARCHA) at Aston University. His research interests include metabolism and ageing, adipose tissue, type 2 diabetes and frailty.

Dr Kasia Whysall

Kasia is a Senior Lecturer at the University of Liverpool. Her research interests include how changes in gene expression play a key role during organism development, life and ageing.

Prof Lizzy Ostler (Honorary Treasurer)

Professor Ostler’s current research is focused on the discovery and design of compounds that abrogate the negative effects of cellular senescence, including novel resveralogues.

Prof Lynne Cox

Lynne Cox is a biogerontologist at the University of Oxford. She runs a research group focused on understanding the basic molecular mechanisms of ageing, and aims to alleviate the diseases of old age by developing treatments that are based on the underlying biology of ageing.

Dr Myriam Chimen (Treasurer)

Myriam is a Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Research Fellow at the University of Birmingham. Her research focuses in understanding how immune-regulatory pathways controlling inflammation change with age and inflammatory conditions.

Helen Griffiths

Chair (2013-16). More details.

Dr Mike Sherratt

Treasurer (2010-2013).